A Very English Birthday

Mr. Radar left for London at the end of September. I was very sad. He’ll be gone for all of October, inconveniently missing my birthday. Obviously, I thought it was a plot to miss my birthday and thus get out of party planning.  I pouted a bit (okay, a lot) and complained that he was so rarely home. He just came back from Greece, after all. And he was going to leave me home alone, with just the dog to protect me from our heathen black cat.

And then I found out about the surprise. Mr. Radar is a terrible secret keeper: he bought me tickets to visit him in London. He wanted me to come out for the entire month, but how could I abandon Thistle? So I went to England for two weeks instead. And it was glorious. I’ve got lots of pictures this time and I’m so excited to share the details of our trip with you.

I should mention that Mr. Radar is in England to take his Viva examination at University College London. The Viva is the English equivalent of the American comprehensive examination for a PHD. On October 17, he passed. There was much celebration involved. Congratulations to Mr. Radar- who is well on his way to becoming Dr. Radar. Here he is at the Natural History Museum with Charles Darwin. (He did not want to pose for this picture, and it took a bit of cajoling to get him to agree to this- and any other picture that I wanted to take with him in it).

Queen Mary’s Garden, in Regent’s Park is one of our favorite places. The roses are still in bloom!

We also took a jaunt over to Salisbury, where Mr. Radar gave a talk. I frolicked at Stonehenge and the Cathedral while Mr. Radar worked.

More on our trip later! I can’t wait to share my favorite London eats, our favorite sights, and tell you all about our mini-trip to Salisbury.

5 Comments

Filed under Family & Life

5 responses to “A Very English Birthday

  1. Very cool. Congrats to the soon-to-be doctor. Glad you got to spend so much time in England.

    • I’m a very luck girl! It is a bit rough to step back from the business for such a long time- but it is worth it, I think. I come back with so many new ideas and recipes.

      Hopefully next time isn’t a surprise, so I can line up blog posts in advance! I hate to see the blog whither on the vine.

  2. oh you went to all my favourite places!! great! c

Leave a Reply

