Whipped Almond Butter

I have a confession and it is a serious one: I hate peanut butter.  When I give away my secret, people panic. You’d think that dislike of peanut butter was criminal! Or worse, catching. Since I’m allergic to most other nuts, avoidance of peanut butter is relatively simple for me. Sometimes I even pretend to be allergic to peanut butter too, just to avoid the public outcry.

There is one nut butter that I love and eat relatively frequently: almond butter. But almond butter can get gritty and has a slightly bitter after taste. So I set about remedying that situation. I started by  adding a touch of honey. That helped, but it needed more. So it got a blast of cinnamon. Then it got whipped 😉

Whipped Apple Butter with Cinnamon & Honey

1/4 cup Unsalted Almond Butter

2 tablespoons Raw Honey

3/4 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon

Pinch of Salt

3-4 tablespoons Almond Milk*

Combine the honey, cinnamon, almond butter and salt in a medium mixing bowl.  While whisking vigorously, drizzle in the almond milk. Keep adding almond milk until the spread is smooth and shiny. If the spread is too thick, add in more almond milk and whisk some more.

Store in an air-tight container in the fridge for up to a week.

*I use almond milk because it is less perishable than regular milk. This way, I can use this as a spread to make a Almond Butter & Jelly sandwich. If you substitute regular milk,  keep the spread chilled in your lunch box.

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Whipped Almond Butter

  1. Looks wonderful. Nothing wrong with hating peanut butter.

  2. LOL your forgiven 🙂 That leaves more for me!
    I live on peanut butter.It is my daily staple.

Leave a Reply

