Blueberry Lassi

Mr. Radar has a breakfast conundrum. As in, he is anti-breakfast.  He claims coffee is his “morning food.” As if coffee can even be considered a food!  A few weeks ago, I noticed his pants beginning to gape at the waist. Already skinny as a rail to the point of non-existence, I felt the need to snap into action.  I became determined to feed him a good breakfast.  It was my personal mission. I tried everything from muesli, fruit, oatmeal, even quinoa. All no dice. He’d eat a few bites and hurry off.

But finally, I found the lassi. Portable, fresh and sweet.  I thought I’d use a little reverse psychology on Mr. Radar just in case. After so many failures, I wanted this one to stick. So I first fed him the lassi in the afternoon. He drank it all up. Next morning, I introduced the lassi again. “Since you liked it so much yesterday, I made it for you again.”  Game, set, match. Hilary Bee: 1 Mr. Radar: 0

Blueberry Lassi

Makes two 8 oz servings

1 1/2 cups of unflavored yogurt (not Greek Yogurt)

1 1/4 cup blueberries

1/4 tsp fresh ginger, grated

2 tablespoons of honey

Handful of ice cubes

Combine the yogurt, blueberries, ginger and honey in the blender. Give it a good pulse. Add the ice cubes and blend until smooth, no more than a minute.

Pour into chilled glasses and enjoy. Or you can make ahead.  I make Mr. Radar’s lassi at night, put it in a travel mug and store in the coldest part of our refrigerator. Works for me!

5 Comments

Filed under Family & Life, Recipes

5 responses to “Blueberry Lassi

  1. This made me laugh, because while it looks wonderful, my wife can’t get me to eat breakfast either.

  2. Oh i love breakfast.. sometimes I wake up in the morning and lie there for a minute deciding what i am going to make for breakfast, i am such a geek,.. Though i actually don’t stop for breakfast until about 10, however this looks perfect to me, i will probably wake up thinking about it tomorrow so i had better make some yoghurt!

  3. I love you idea! I’ve never made or even tasted a fruit lassi, we always seem to be making protein shakes… thanks for the recipe, it will be fun to try!

Leave a Reply

