Lavender Vanilla Rice Pudding

Rice pudding, my very very favorite dessert breakfast. I never get around to eating rice pudding for dessert- being rice, and milk and a tiny bit of sugar, it seems more like porridge than pudding. Delicious, delicious porridge. But still porridge.

I use arborio rice, the same kind of rice used to make risotto. It naturally thickens, eliminating the need for cream or even whole milk!

Lavender Vanilla Rice Pudding

Adapted from Deb Perleman, SmittenKitchen

4 Cups Milk (I use 2%)  Whole Milk lends a richer taste, but don’t use skim!

1/2 Cup Arborio Rice

1/4 cup Natural Cane Sugar

1/2 Vanilla Bean, split

3 Stems of Culinary Lavender

Combine everything in a large saucepan. Gently bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Stir occasionally, making sure none of the rice sticks to the bottom of the pan. Don’t turn away from the pan for too long, or else a skin will form and the milk will boil over.  Cook for about 35-40 minutes, until the pudding is thick and silky. The rice should be soft and will have doubled in size.

Use tongs to pick out the vanilla bean and lavender stems. Some of the buds will be in the pudding- but that’s good! So let those be.

*As always, Nicole shot this lovely pudding. And then she added bunny ears. I did not approve.

5 Comments

Filed under Family & Life

5 responses to “Lavender Vanilla Rice Pudding

  1. I need to try this, I always have Arborio on hand.

  2. It’s my go to recipe. When I’m sick, i make it. Sad? Obviously rice pudding. I’m convinced it is the cure all to everything.

  3. Andrea S-R

    Hi Hilary! Long time, no talk! I’m curious where you buy your ingredients? Do you think I can find them in a large organic grocery store/ online? Also, is a split vanilla bean literally a bean that I need to break/cut in half? Thanks!

    P.S. I’m loving your website and your etsy store!

    • Hi Andrea-

      Arborio rice is easy to find at most major groceries- just look near the pasta or imported Italian goods section. It is sometimes with the rice and other grains, depending on the store.

      As for the vanilla bean, you need to split it lengthwise, so that the seeds are exposed and can run into the pudding when it is cooking. I get me vanilla beans at beanilla.com
      My lavender is homegrown, and I grow “Munstead” or culinary lavender specifically for culinary purposes.

  4. Pingback: Peaches in Honeyed Syrup « Thistle Confections

Leave a Reply

