Easter Eggs, Naturally

Don’t get sad about the rain ruining your Easter Parade- make these Easter eggs instead! It is so easy and fun to make naturally dyed Easter Eggs. Think of it as a super cool science experiment that you can eat! And since today is Earth Day, this project couldn’t be more perfect.

This morning I shared this project on the FOX45 morning show. I researched making dyes with  natural ingredients like red cabbage, turmeric, tea, beets, blueberries, coffee grounds, and onion skins. Watch my video over at Fox45 and check out these tips, ratios, and links to get you started!

The Colors of the Rainbow

For Blue Eggs:

1 head of red cabbage, cut into strips and boiled with about  8 cups of water. Boil for 10-15 minutes- the dye is ready when it has turned a deep purple. Allow to cool. Strain and add about 2 tablespoons of vinegar. I found that one head of cabbage could dye almost a dozen eggs! So have fun!

For Pink and Red Eggs:

1 bunch of beets. Cut the beets in half and bring them to boil in about 4-5 cups of water. Boil until the color has reached a translucent magenta for light pink. For dark pink, boil the beets for 20-25 minutes, until the water is a very dark red. Allow to cool and add 2 tablespoons of vinegar.

For Yellow Eggs:

Combine two tablespoons of Turmeric with 2 cups of boiling water. (I use a tea kettle).  Mix in a tablespoon of vinegar. This dye is fast acting!

For Green Eggs:

For a darker green, use 1 bunch of  spinach combined with 4-5 cups of water.  I brought the mixture to a gentle boil, and then allowed it to simmer on low heat for 40 minutes. Allow the mixture to cool, strain out the spinach leaves, and add 2 tablespoons of vinegar. You can also use the cabbage dye on brown eggs to create green. I used eggs that were dyed yellow with turmeric. I allowed the yellow dye to dry, and then dunked them in the cabbage dye.  I loved the almost turquoise results.


For Antique Eggs:

1 package of tea (12-14 bags) to 4 cups of water. Depending on the look you want to achieve, you can use black tea or an herbal tea like Celestial Seasonings Red Zinger. I tried both. I loved the look of the Red Zinger- the eggs had a mauve color with faint streaks. These were my absolute favorite. You can create a neat marbling effect by drizzling olive oil on the eggs before dying.

I started with about 3 dozen hard boiled eggs- mostly white, though I did use about 6 brown eggs. I used whatever pots, pans, and mason jars that I could spare. I would recommend trying one or two colors at a time. I found the red beets and red cabbage to be the easiest.  The longer you let the eggs sit in the dye, the darker the color.

My last bit of advice: Don’t think too much about this project! Just get in the kitchen and have some fun!

I had a lot of help from the Rowley family- thank you Aiden, Morgan, and Sophia for letting me have your beautiful eggs! For more ideas and advice,  visit this tutorial from The Kitchn!   The jewel tone eggs, below, from The Kitchn were my main inspiration.

Naturally Dyed Easter Egg over at The Kitchn

If you check out my video, you can see that I went for a pastel, antique look for my eggs. Allowing the eggs to soak in the dye overnight in your fridge will get you jewel tones like the ones above.

Eva's Amazing Eggs on Adventures in Cooking

If you are feeling extra ambitious, try making these Easter Eggs with an herb motif, like the ones featured in one of my favorite blogs, Adventures in Cooking.

1 Comment

Filed under Family & Life

One response to “Easter Eggs, Naturally

  1. Renea

    That is a most awesome idea! I just got around to getting on here and seeing this. Really, really like it. This is something I would like doing.
    way to go!

    Renea

Leave a Reply

