French Fridays with Dorie: Beggar’s Linguine

[French Friday’s is a new feature here at Thistle. Every Friday, we will review a recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table]

I have a Confession: I eat a lot of pasta and I’m proud of it. I’m not ashamed of my pasta consumption. In fact,  I look forward to adding new pasta dishes to my repertoire and I was particularly excited to try this recipe. Beggar’s Linguine features nuts, raisins, figs, cheese and BUTTER. Any new pasta dish that utilizes pantry items is a winner in my book.  I was down right ecstatic to dig into this. Let me just say: Dorie is not messing around with the butter in this recipe.  Browned butter, all toasty and caramelized is the “sauce” in the recipe. So if you are not in favor of toasty, delicious butter- avert your eyes.

Still there? Good. In the head notes to the recipe, Dorie explains that the inspiration for the recipe is Mendiant candies, delicious chocolate disks containing nuts and fruits. The varying nuts and fruits represent the four Mendicant Orders. If you are a product of Catholic school, like me- you’ll know figs represent Franciscans, raisins for Dominicans,  hazelnuts for Augustins, and almonds for the Carmelites. Not Catholic? You’ll completely forget the presence of monks and nuns altogether once you taste this dish.

I found this recipe particularly fitting for the first Friday of Lent. It’s a meatless dish, perfect for Lenten Fridays. The dish features a handful of earnest dried fruits and nuts, ingredients that are not particularly spectacular or interesting. This dish is no looker-  but it will have you repenting your sins and begging for more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family & Life

Leave a Reply

